Seven Churches – Seven Days of the Gospel Day

The seven churches of Asia mentioned in Revelations 1- 3 (like the Epistles to the various churches located in: Rome, Corinth, Galatia, Ephesus, etc.) were actual congregations of the church of God at that time. But, like the Epistles, the message to the seven Churches was also intended for many others to hear, understand, and heed. Consequently, we realize that the seven congregations have a greater meaning than a certain people in a certain locality, but that they represent spiritual conditions that have existed among God’s people at different times throughout history, and even today – very similar to how the rest of the Epistles relate to the church throughout history and today.

There are definite parallels between the seven congregations/churches of Asia, the seven Seals and the seven Trumpets. The spiritual conditions that these reveal actually all spiritually existed early in Christianity, and existed in some form throughout history since.

Do the Seven Churches of Asia also Represent Church History?

The seven Congregations/Churches of Asia also clearly describe predominate spiritual conditions that particularly affected the church as a whole during certain periods of history, or periods of the Gospel day.

The dividing of history into 7 days of the Gospel day agrees with scripture:

“Moreover the light of the moon shall be as the light of the sun, and the light of the sun shall be sevenfold, as the light of seven days, in the day that the LORD bindeth up the breach of his people, and healeth the stroke of their wound.” (Isaiah 30:26)

Light allows you to see things that otherwise would be shadowed or obscured in darkness. Spiritual light is that that provides understanding concerning Gospel truths and spiritual conditions that exist hidden within the hearts of men and women. The moon represents the Old Testament Law, or the “shadow of good things to come” (Heb 10:1), because the moon has no light of itself, but only by reflecting the light of the sun can it provide obscure clarity or understanding in the night. But the sun is very bright and clearly shows the full image and color of all things. Jesus is that “Sun of righteousness” (Malachi 4:2) whose “countenance was as the sun shineth in his strength” (See: “Jesus the Bright and Shining Light, the Sun of Righteousness“). The light of seven days is the truth and understanding that comes from Jesus’ revelation message to reveal what has gone on in the hearts of men during the Gospel day. Consequently the Gospel day is divided up into seven periods, or days, first designated by the seven churches of Asia. The Gospel day started when Jesus first was born on earth and started his church. The Gospel day will end when Jesus returns for the last time to destroy the earth and set up the final judgement.

See also:

Seven Churches – Seven Days (continued)

Seven Churches – the “Vengeance” of God Seven Fold

وحي يسوع المسيح